Steering Committee For EPA Multipurpose Grant

Term: 3 Years

Election of Officers: January of Each Year 

Meeting Schedule: Wednesday

Appointments made by: City Council

The Committee is made up of 1 City Councilor, 1 Planning Board Representative, 1 Conservation Commission Representative, and 4 members of the public.

The City applied for and was awarded $800,000 from the EPA for assessment, cleanup and reuse planning/development of priority sites along the northern side of the Sugar River; the Former Synergy or Monadnock Gas Works Site (Synergy Site) and the former Joy Manufacturing / Foundry Site(Joy Site) and as needed other adjacent properties. This grant can be utilized for up to 5 years. The Steering Committee will have responsibilities including community engagement, reuse/cleanup planning, site assessment and remediation.

Click HERE to stay up-to-date on the Sugar River Land Redevelopment Project.

2024 Meeting Schedule 

EPA Multipurpose Application  

UConn TAB report on the Sugar River Land

EPA Market Study for Former Synergy Site (Monadnock Gas Works) 

Recreation Economy in Rural Communities Final Report  


August 7, 2024 Steering Committee for EPA Multipurpose Grant  Public Notice 

Board Members
Term Expires
City Council Representative
Jonathan Hayden
Planning Board Representative
David Putnam
Conservation Commission Representative
Eric Ruffin
Seat 4
Sophia Sushailo
Seat 5
Dana McGrath
Seat 6
Elyse Crossman
Seat 7
Mary Lownie
View Calendar